2016 Goals – How’d I Do?

DESIGN

Now that I’ve finished school, I have more time to focus on design and working toward my goals here. Most of the year, I didn’t do much outside of school, but I started working more on my illustration skills but unfortunately didn’t get to practice hand-lettering skills at all.

WRITING

2016 was not the best with my writing. Mostly I just didn’t have much time. But in November, I took out as much time as I could to participate in NaNoWriMo with a new story and I did it! I wrote 50,000 words in a month, and most excitedly, I wrote 13,000 on the final day just to finish. That’s the most I’ve ever written in any amount of time, and though the year didn’t go well with writing anything else, I did have the success of winning NaNoWriMo with a story I really love and want to continue writing it until it’s finished (I’m at around the halfway mark at 50,000.)

TRAVEL

I traveled to my family’s yearly vacation destination and to Madison, WI for a weekend vacation the month before to visit family. Both were great trips, and though I’ve never traveled to Madison before (except a trip a long time ago when I was young that I barely remember), I didn’t travel anywhere really new.

READING

I don’t even want to talk about it. I read 24 books from an original goal of 50. I’m not entirely thrilled I has such little time to read, as it’s something I love and do to relax. I definitely learned that I put too much pressure on myself to read a lot and with the limited time I had all year, it just wasn’t going to happen. However, I’m always proud that I read anything and this what I read:

FILM

Two films is still better than none. I had plans to go to the theater a few times, but they fell through a few times because of money or schedule changes of other things. But the films I did see I loved: 10 Cloverfield Lane and Star Wars: The Force Awakens (in January while it was still in theaters). But I did see several films on DVD that were new to me that I enjoyed immensely, and though I’d rather see more in theaters, I still wish to see them more in any form. I also watched: Gone Girl, Edge of Tomorrow, Far From the Madding Crowd, Birdman, and Mad Max: Fury Road—all of which I loved, and some I’ve even added to my top favorites.

EXERCISE

I started the year off great, lost ten pounds, walked/ran often, and exercised semi-regularly while eating a bit healthier. And then I slowly started going back to old habits and gained the weight back. But it’s fine, I’m fine, everything’s fine.

2016 VIDEO

I’m actually incredible proud of myself that I filmed a short clip (nearly) every single day for the past year. I did it so often and became so used to it that I filmed a few times the first few days of January forgetting I didn’t have to anymore. I still have to compile and edit the clips together (which I wanted to have done by the end of the year) but I’m excited to get it completed and look back at my 2016.

And that was my year! Some failures, some success. On to 2017 with new goals!

Leave a Reply

