NaNoWriMo 2016 – Update #1

First (sort of) week of NaNoWriMo is complete! And I didn’t totally fail yet!

With an easy start to the week, I was able to write a lot on the first day, which brought me about half a day ahead right away. But with a busier mid-week (out of town on the 2nd, working on the 3rd) I wrote almost nothing. Then on Friday, I had some time after working on school assignment and wrote over my daily 1,667, then dominated today and almost caught myself up to the 8,335 I should be at.

As a writer, I’ve been able to write at a pretty consistent 500-1,000 word session on the regular, with my record being 6,000 in a day (maybe I can do that again on a nice long day off this month???). I knew that I could do 1,667 words in a day easily, but having the time to do so is the trick with a busy schedule. So knowing that I would have days with 0 words, I knew I’d have to make it up with higher word counts on days that I could write. Hopefully this strategy will get me to 50,000 by the 30th—so far, I’m not too far behind.

Words Written:

November 1st 2,257
November 2nd 0
November 3rd 520
November 4th 1,862
November 5th 2,479

Total Weekly Words: 7,108
Where I Should Be: 8,335

My novel is about a girl going missing and a town (told from seven perspectives) in search of her, alternating between two timelines: one before she went missing and one after she’s been missing a while and a second event shakes the town once again. So far it’s been going well, the only trick is keeping the timelines straight and making it all work in one coherent story. Outlining all October really helps with that.

Anyway, I’m having a great time with NaNoWriMo and I’m excited it’s going well so far!

Leave a Reply

