Monthly Selections – September 2016

I say this every month, but how in the world is September over already? It’s been a weird month since my last semester of school has started and the small business I co-own launched a new product. Weird and busy. Here’s what I’ve liked this month!

Cheap Thrills

I’ve been a fan of Sia for a while but somehow missed Cheap Thrills when it came out earlier this year. It’s a fun, bouncy song with the catchiest lyrics and I’ve been listening nonstop for weeks. Pop song of the decade. I’m also kind of obsessed with the video.

Fran Meneses

Recently, I’ve been wanting to work on my illustration skills and I’ve been searching for illustrators to follow online and get some inspiration from them. That’s how I found Fran’s Instagram and later her YouTube channel. Her work is amazing, I love her color palette and style. She has a lot of great videos about illustrating and her life on her channel and I’ve been soaking everything in (along with other illustrators I’ve found) as I start on this journey of working on my illustration skills. The video is really great resource for materials and tools that she uses.

ICA Tote Bag

img_0662

For the past month, I’ve been using this tote bag to carry my stuff to work and back instead of a backpack. For one thing, my backpack is too big for everyday carrying and I don’t need all the space it has—though it’s the perfect backpack for traveling. I have messenger bags from high school I could use, but they’re waring and even still, too big. With this tote, I can carry my laptop in a sleeve, a book, a binder for work, a charger, and a few smaller things like gum and hand-sanitizer. My favorite part about the bag is that it has long handles and short handles, so if I’m carrying something else, I can sling it over my shoulder to have both hands free. It’s pretty thin fabric and has almost no shape to it, but with my laptop in its sleeve in it, it stays upright enough. And it has, “I care about the environment!” in Swedish, language of my ancestors, so, win-win all around. (I received it at a moving sale of a Swedish man who gave it to me for carrying all the cookbooks I bought.)

Leave a Reply

