Monthly Selections: March 2016

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

A beautiful, rough look into two odd teens who fall in love in the 80s and deal with their families, school, and each other. Eleanor & Park is such a good book and it’s now at the top of my list of favorite contemporary YA. Cute and heartbreaking and incredible.

IMG_5255

In Progress by Jessica Hische

After it was recommended to me, I bought illustrator, designer, and letterer Jessica Hische’s In Progress, a look into her process and the work she’s done. Since I’ve been wanting to practice my hand-lettering skills ever since the calligraphy class I took a few semesters ago, I was really excited to get this and I’m ready to look to this for inspiration for practicing my skills.

Birdy – “Keeping Your Head Up”

I’ve listened to Birdy a few times, especially her rendition of “White Winter Hymnal,” which I listen to all the time in my usual rotation of playlists. Her newest song, “Keeping Your Head Up” is beautiful and I dig the video’s style and costumes.

Design Obsession

It’s a toss up between these Caran d’Ache pencils and their packaging/the wrappers for Mast Brothers chocolate bars.

Leave a Reply

