Design: Process – Mamacita’s Recipe Post

Last year, on the first of the July, I started up a new business with my mother, packaging and selling her famous salsa that she’s been making for years for different events and parties. Because we’re still small and working locally, the two of us do everything. We split the tasks of owning and running a business equally, and since I’m a design student and fairly handy with social media, I take on the tasks of all design work (which I’ve posted about before, doing the logo, label, branding, website for Mamacita’s.

Our Salsa Fresca isn’t just for snacking with chips, but can be used to add a flavor boost in different recipes. We test and write up blog posts with different recipes to share and get the people who love our salsa to try them out, too. We make the food together, perfecting the recipe, then photograph it for the post. I’ve designed all the featured images (the original few are slowly being redesigned when I have the time to do so) and write up the blog posts, sharing them on our social medias.

In this post, I thought I’d give a little insight into the process of what I do to get the recipe posts ready to go. This past Tuesday, we posted a new recipe for deviled eggs for Easter with our Salsa Fresca—which are amazing—and this is what went into it:

After perfecting the recipe and tasting them, we style the food and I photograph them. I take as many photos in as many angles as possible to get variety to choose from later.

Once uploaded, I choose the right photo that will work the best, then edit it: contrast, brightness, exposure, and bumping up the saturation. I always want the food to look beautiful and vibrant. Because I started designing these in Photoshop, that’s what I’ve been working in for these, but I typically would work in Illustrator. I place a grid over the image and align a solid rectangle in a light tan at 50-70% opacity, depending on the photo and what’s needed. I try to align everything, centered at a third of the image and centered horizontally.

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.41.05 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.42.40 PM

After I add the logo and the titles, I adjust everything to be in the right position. Often times, I move everything within the rectangle over to where it looks best, not always at a third of the image. I then save the image and start the blog post.

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.43.45 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.45.54 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.46.22 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 6.48.07 PM

deviled_eggs

We use Squarespace for our website and the blog service that it comes with for our posts. I write up the recipe, add the featured image, and post it to our site, then share on our Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter. Here’s the post for this recipe.

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 10.45.25 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 1.13.28 AM

That’s the entire process of creating our recipes, or at least my side of the design and social media aspect to getting it up online. It’s definitely not perfect, and eventually, I think I’ll do another redesign or tweak what’s already there—even just creating this post, now looking at it critically, I see things I want to change and fix. Which is good! That’s part of the reason I wanted to start posting more about my own process and my own design, to look at things more critically instead of having that “good enough” attitude. Talking about the process makes me see things I know aren’t perfect and will push me to make it better and better.

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

