Design: Favorites – Updated Finds

Since starting this blog, I’ve been posting about my favorite designs in different categories: book covers, prints, web, etc. and have since found more recent work that I’d like to add to those lists, so periodically I’ll be doing updates in one post for all of those categories if I’ve found a recent favorite, starting with this one. A few recent new favorites I’ve discovered:

Web Design

I posted about my favorite sites recently and since then, the Apartment has relaunched with a new design and since I love it just as much as the original design, I thought I’d share that in the update as well.

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 4.46.23 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 4.46.33 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 4.46.51 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 4.47.03 PM

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 4.47.14 PM

Title Sequences

The show Fear the Walking Dead, the spin-off of one of my favorite shows The Walking Dead, has a title sequence much different to the parent show, shorter and much more chilling. This title sequence jumps out at you after the cold open with the blood-stained and cracked title flashing on a black background, more horror and fright than The Walking Dead’s dramatic pace of decaying images. The tones of the two shows are slightly different and it’s reflected here in the title sequences. Two great shows, two great title sequences.

Book Cover

Here are a few book covered that I’ve recently discovered that I really love: the Eternal Sky trilogy by Elizabeth Bear have beautiful covers with incredible illustrations and use of subtle typography allows the art to truly shine—I put them on my TBR list because of these covers alone; I’ve known about The Martian by Andy Weir for a while but haven’t read it or seen the film, but ever since seeing the cover, I fell in love with the composition of the image and the bold type, reminding me a lot of the poster for the film Gravity, which is another favorite; the cover for The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan (UK version) has a beautiful style of illustration; and the sequel to one of my favorite new series by my favorite author, Victoria (VE) Schwab, A Gathering of Shadows perfectly matches the first book with the same style of illustration and incredible bold graphical elements in black and red that really pop.

Over time, I’m sure I’ll be updating even more every few months. That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

