Travel Plans

At the start of this year, I wrote about my new goals for 2016 and one of them was to travel more. Because it’s only January, I haven’t traveled anywhere yet, but I did want to post about my plans for traveling, whether it’s this year or in a few years or eventually sometime in my life.

THIS YEAR

Food Trip

For years and years, I’ve watched Food Network and Cooking Channel shows that feature restaurants all over the country with food that looks incredible. And I have said over and over again that I want to take a trip, maybe not around the whole country, maybe just one region, and find those restaurants and eat there. I would love to finally do it this year, but of course there’s a money factor that will come into play and I’m not sure I’ll be able to do it. It might be a short trip. Maybe it won’t happen this year, but I sure hope I can do it.

Copper Harbor, MI

This trip is every year. My family heads north to Copper Harbor, usually in the summer time, for a weekend in a cabin. We always stay at the same cabin, though this year they’re booked and we may have to find somewhere else, and have a great time. Though three days never feels like enough, it’s always a highlight of the year, looking back.

Anywhere

Honestly, any small trip counts. If I take a trip a few hours away, that’s still visiting a different city, a different state. Any opportunity that gets me away for a bit counts as travel. And I’m going to be looking for those types of trips to go on this year and report back here with the details.

IN A FEW YEARS

Road Trip, USA

The plan for a trip around eating at delicious restaurants, most likely just one region of the country, is one plan. I have another plan to take a trip around the entire US, visiting different cities I’ve always wanted to visit. I’ve primarily only traveled around the midwest and down through to Georgia once, and through Canada to Vermont. I’d really love to travel to the west coast, the south, and more of the New England area and the east coast. I’ve always wanted to go on a road trip, but because I could never afford it right now and I wouldn’t want to go alone, I would have to go with my parents, but they don’t have the time or funds to do it either. Maybe some day, maybe alone or with others, but I want it to happen while I’m still in my twenties and am able to.

Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia

Recently, with the help of Ancestry, I’ve learned that my third great-grandmother Zelire was born and grew up in Canada (her ancestry being French) on Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia. I was so excited to find that out because it reminded me of Anne of Green Gables and it’s a place I would love to visit. Not even just because it’s  a beautiful place, but maybe it would be a place to find out more about Zelire and her life there and more of the family that lived there. Maybe if I visit I’ll feel a connection to the island or the town she grew up in. Maybe I won’t, but I’ll never know until I go there to find out for myself.

Hawaii

I’ve never been anywhere exotic, I’ve never seen the ocean. For my entire life, I see people go on these great trips and have vacations, and I’ve never been able to experience that, and I’d love to. From what my parents tell me, Hawaii is beautiful and I want to experience it soon. I’d love to be able to go on a family trip with them. That would be incredible.

EVENTUALLY IN MY LIFE

Europe & Asia & Australia & Everywhere

My entire life, I have been obsessed with the idea of visiting the world, specifically Europe. Both sides of my family come from Europe. On my mom’s side: mostly Swedish, French, and German. On my dad’s: mostly Italian, French, and German. I want to visit these places and feel the history of them, because where I live, the history only goes back a hundred or so years. I’ve never seen a building that was older than 100. I want to feel the history, I want experience the cultures. I’ve been a bit of a francophile and an anglophile for most of my life, wanting to visit France and the UK. Here’s a list of the countries I’d love to visit:

  • France
  • Sweden
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Spain
  • China
  • Mexico
  • Japan
  • Switzerland
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • The UK
  • Egypt
  • More of Canada
  • And literally all of them. Just, all of them.

So will I be able to do it? I hope I can travel to all of these places in my life, whether it be soon or twenty years from now—I’d rather it be sooner—I just want to go, I just want to experience it all. And, related to my feeling on travel, here is a little excerpt I love from one of my favorite books:

“I’m not going to die,” she said. “Not till I’ve seen it.”
“Seen what?”
Her smile widened. “Everything.”

– Lila Bard and Kell in A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Leave a Reply

