Monthly Selections: October 2015

Here are some things from October that I dig:

Kangaroo Court (+ Hannah Eleanor)

Hannah Eleanor makes jewelry and while they are incredible, I mostly love her YouTube channel where she talks about her life and small business. In one of her videos about her skin care routine, she used the song Kangaroo Court by Capital Cities. I immediately fell in love with the song.

And the music video…what a gem. I will never be over this moment:

kangaroo_court

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

This past summer, I participated in Book-Tube-A-Thon, which is an annual read-a-thon for BookTubers and watchers of BookTube and everyone who wants to read for a week straight, basically.Β The goal was to read 7 books – I read 6 and a half, but that’s a win in my book since it usually takes me nearly two weeks to read one.

Anyway, one of the books I read was a graphic novel called Through the Woods, a beautifully illustrated compilations of short stories by Emily Carroll that is by far one of the most eerie, creepy books I’ve read – mostly because of the, at times, terrifying artwork. It’s on the side of cartoonish, but genuinely unsettling. Beautiful, scary stories.

I knew that I wanted to reread it for Halloween, and I’m glad I was able to. It’s just so fantastic – and so quick to read, I know I’ll be able to reread it every year around Halloween for a good ole spooky story to get me in the mood for the evening.

A/B Machines by Sleigh Bells (+ Pride & Prejudice & Zombies)

Another song! Plus a movie! Pride & Prejudice & Zombies is a book that I own and have not read and Pride & Prejudice & Zombies is a movie that I cannot wait to see. It looks good, no? Like, I’m genuinely not worried about it being awful, because the cast is great and the music choice is spot on and the premise is hilarious and even if it IS bad, that will be great. I love so-bad-it’s-good zombie flicks. Win/win.

Unless it’s so bad it’s too bad to be so-bad-it’s-good. You know? But mostly, I’m unworried.

Anyway, the song in the trailer is A/B Machines by Sleigh Bells which is currently one of my Jams of Autumn 2015.

That’s all, folks. Go forth and enjoy life with these new findings.

Leave a Reply

