Monthly Selections: September 2015

I decided that I wanted to branch out a little from just design-related posts and start a monthly post about all the other stuff I’ve been into the last few weeks. Book, film, music, whatever. So this is what I’ve been digging this September:

Fear the Walking Dead

2a242bd7-b290-5796-b69e-7fe6e2686c41_11013283_343100905899476_4777468641214513270_n

One of my favorite shows is The Walking Dead. At first, when I learned that there was going to be a spin off, I was hesitant. The comics that the show is based on is great, but creating a show in the same world not connected to the comics felt like a bad idea. Let me tell you: I was not expecting to like this show as much as I do. The first four episodes were fantastic. The pilot was a little slow to start with, but overall a great hook into what this part of the Walking Dead universe was going to be like. The second episode was even better. The third was my favorite. I liked the fourth episode, though it seemed a little disconnected from the first few with the nine day time jump. Tonight’s episode was the only one I didn’t like that much. It was good, not great. I’m hoping the next episode (the finale) is a strong end to bring us into the next season.

“Murder Song (5, 4, 3, 2, 1)” by Aurora

I just recently learned of Aurora and instantly became obsessed. This song is so beautiful and haunting and every other over-used word to describe a song. The lyrics are stunningβ€”hey, look another over-used word. I’m very good at describing things. Anyway, all her music is awesome. Especially “Running with the Wolves” and “Runaway.”

NOTE: Do not buy the Murder Song on iTunes without listening to it as a sample. It’s a different version (one I don’t really like, compared to the one above). It’s not on iTunes to buy, which is disappointing.

EDIT: I am either an idiot who didn’t see it before, or it went up after this post – but the song IS on iTunes. And it’s still amazing.

East of West

East of West is a comic book series (though I read the first collected volume, the first five issues bound up) that is a part dystopian, part western, part sci-fi wild ride on the backs of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. It’s a crazy alternate history of the US with a lot going on in it, but ultimately it was a fun read. The gore, the story, the style – I was all in from the first few pages. I read it on vacation a few weeks ago, a short weekend trip, and I finished it on the drive there. It’s a killer story and I can’t wait to continue with the rest.

And there are my selection of favorites from September. Best part of these? There will be MORE from each of them in my future, which is grand.

Leave a Reply

