Mamacita’s: Website Design (End of Spring 2015 Semester)

For the past few weeks, I’ve been busy with final projects and finals, leaving me little time for Mamacita’s. Though I’ve been slowly chipping away at the completed label design, I took a few hours to work on Mamacita’s website.

It is not yet finished, but here is a screenshot of the homepage:

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 2.52.35 PM

We decided to use Squarespace for our website. I didn’t want to spend hours and hours and hours creating a design and coding it myselfβ€”as I’ve done in the past. Squarespace has fantastic templates that can be customized to do almost anything. And there are plenty of templates to choose from, too.

We went with the template called Montauk, inspired by another site for a photography business that uses the same template.

There is more to come for the content, of course, but the overall design is completed. One thing I may change is the background. I started with it transparent, the opacity level down to 30%. It looked nice, however it seemed too faded. I tried full opacity and liked it at first, but now I think it might be too much. I may have to find a middle ground.

For the most part, the design is completed. We plan on doing a photoshoot with the final packaging and some behind the scenes photos with the process of making the salsa. I’ll add a gallery to the homepage so that these can be seen.

There are several more details to work out and we have to add content, but we’re extremely happy with the direction it is going in. One step closer to launching Mamacita’s!


On another note, the semester has ended today. All final projects have been turned in and everything has been squared away. Each time I check off a semester, I realize that I’m closer and closer to being finished with school. It’s a scary thought but a good one.

Honestly, this last semester was my favorite. I loved my classesβ€”which is rare, I usually end up disliking one or more of them. I’m excited and happy to have the summer to focus on Mamacita’s and focus on my writing and design work. I will have another job for the summer, working at my grandmother’s restaurant a few days a week, but I will no longer be watching my nephew (I’ve watched him three days a week while my sister was at work for the last almost-two years) which will free up a lot of my schedule.

Looking forward to the summer and the launch of Mamacita’s!

Leave a Reply

