Design: Favorites – Book Covers

As a writer and avid reader, combined with my passion for graphic design, obviously I have a huge obsession with book cover design. Just take a look on my bookshelves and you’ll see hundreds of books, a good third of them unread. They are on my long to-be-read list, but I bought them for one reason—the book covers. I have many of them. It’s almost a sickness.

I chose my favorite book covers, which was nearly impossible, so I chose my Top Five, and have included all the others I love in a gallery at the bottom of this post.

Here are, in no particular order, my Top Five Favorite Book Cover Designs:

Vermilion
Vermilion

Title: Vermilion
Author: Molly Tanzer
Design: Osiel Gómez
Art: Dalton Rose
GoodReads link here.

I have not yet read or bought this book—I believe it has not been released yet, but will be out this month. There was approximately four hours between learning of this book and writing this post. That’s how quickly it became one of my favorite covers. I love the colors, the illustration, and the title placement and typography. And I can’t wait to get my hands on it and read it! (I’d literally buy a poster of this cover if it were available.) Most of the colors are muted and tonally darker, but the type is bright and eye-catching. It’s one of the most incredible covers I’ve ever seen.

A Darker Shade of Magic
A Darker Shade of Magic

Title: A Darker Shade of Magic
Author: Victoria Schwab
Design/Art: Will Staehle
GoodReads link here.

V.E. Schwab (or Victoria Schwab) is my favorite author. I love the ADSOM cover for several reasons, other than the beautiful illustration and design: multiple Londons, KELL’S FABULOUS COAT. The use of negative space is brilliant, as is the motion the illustration creates, Kell jumping from one London to another.

Greenglass House
Greenglass House

Title: Greenglass House
Author: Kate Milford
Design/Art: Jaime Zollar
GoodReads link here.

This fun, mystery middle grade book was really enjoyable. The cover’s illustration is beautiful, the white and the green, the swirl of the smoke and the snow. I love the style, especially the trees along the hill. If it were a poster, I believe I would buy one for this one, too. The purple type of the author’s name matches the inside pages.

The Blue Fox
The Blue Fox

Title: The Blue Fox
Author: Sjón
GoodReads link here.

The cover of this book was the reason I bought it. The fox is my favorite animal, blue is my favorite cover, and I’m obsessed with space and the stars. It was as if someone had created the cover just for me. The illustration of the fox, the lines like lace against the dark night sky. The ribbon or paper-fold typography of the author’s name, set sideways is the first thing I noticed when I saw it.

The Illuminaries
The Illuminaries

Title: The Luminaries
Author: Eleanor Catton
Design: Jenny Grigg
GoodReads link here.

Though I have yet to read it, I chose this book because I fell in love with the cover. There are two versions. The first I saw and loved was the cream-colored one. Then, I was given the blue version for Christmas. Equally are well designed and beautiful. The painting coming through, cut out where the moon phases are is incredible. I love both of these. It’s such an intriguing cover, the painting hidden from view but there all the same. As far as I know, there is a theme within the the novel of characters representing zodiac signs, relating to the celestial illustration revealing the person beneath it.


There are probably a hundred more of my favorites. But a few more are included in the gallery below.

Leave a Reply

